Travel in Style

wp-1488301221898.jpg

Hi,

Again an Art Journal Page this time. The Prompt for the Facebook group; Art Journal Prompts was: Materials. When I saw the prompt for this week my brain went everywhere…. Materials….. that could be everything.

But I had this weird material it is a kind of elastic netting.  And I wanted to create a page with it, more specific a dress. My inspiration was a gorgeous stamp from Rangers Dylusions by Dyan Reavely. -Night at the opera-  and a stamp set from StampinUp – Beautiful You-

I Started to work with the big stamp from Dylusions. Stamped it on a piece of scrap paper and started to play with the elastic netting. Thought I figured it out and stamped it again on my all-purpose mix media paper and try to attach the netting. Well that did not work at all. It didn’t stay in place with glue, it did not hold its shape…… so I needed to change my plan; Tried it with another kind of dress from the SU set. Stamped it and enlarged it by 300% and started again. But the sad truth is that the material was not suitable for this use.

So chance of plan! I still used the top of the SU enlarged stamp and hand drew a long skirt with it, which I covered in tiny little strips of fabric. And OMG she was ready to travel!

Took an old map of Paris which I distressed with gesso leaving some spaces open so you could see it was Paris. Used some fabric ribbon and made a fabric sign with “Travel in Style” (I hate my handwriting). Added some bling and gave her a big Diamond ring!  And made her a little leather purse. Stamped a bit around with mail stamps and highlighted some areas with beautiful PearlEx. At the end of this project I still wanted to use some of this stupid netting, I attached it with staples in the corners blacked it a bit and placed a little ribbon under it….. and….. liked it.😊

Thanks for being here!

Ineke

 

Hoi,

Deze week weer een Art Journal pagina. Het thema deze week van de Art Journal Prompts Facebook groep was: Materiaal. Toen ik dat las ging het alle kanten op met mijn gedachtes, materiaal: dat kan van alles zijn.

Maar ik heb van dat aparte spul liggen: een soort elastisch netje wat ooit om een slang van de wasmachine zet. En dat wilde ik voor deze pagina of meer specifiek voor het maken van een jurk gebruiken. Mijn inspiratie kwam van een mooie stempel van Rangers Dylusions by Dyan Reavely. -Night at the opera-  en een stempel set van StampinUp – Beautiful You-

Ik ging aan de slag met de grote Dylusions stempel. Gestempeld op een stuk papier en met het netje gaan spelen en schuiven. Toen ik dacht dat ik wel wist hoe ik het ging doen heb ik nogmaals gestempeld maar nu op stevig Mix Media Papier. Maar het vastmaken van het net lukte helemaal niet en de vorm bleef ook niet behouden. Dan maar proberen met een anders soort jurk van de SU set. Hiervoor gestempeld en vervolgens met 300% vergroot. Maar helaas ook dat lukte op geen enkele manier Het elastische netje was hier niet voor geschikt. Dus mijn plan moest aangepast worden. Ik heb wel de bovenkant van de vergrote SU stempel gebruikt en heb er met de hand een lange rok onder getekend. Deze heb ik helemaal beplakt met kleine stukjes stof en ja hoor ze was mooi en klaar om op reis te gaan!

Ik heb een oude plattegrond van Parijs genomen en deze met wat Gesso bewerkt maar wel zo dat je nog kan zien dat het Parijs is. Wat lint gebruikt en op een stukje stof de quote “travel in style” geschreven (ik haat mijn handschrift!) Hier en daar wat bling toegevoegd en haar een diamanten ring bezorgd. Ook heb ik een leren tasje voor haar gemaakt. Nog wat gestempeld met een post stempel en sommige delen wat glim aangebracht met PearlEx. Uiteindelijk wilde ik toch het elastische net nog gebruiken bij dit project. Ik heb het in de hoeken vastgeniet en wat donkerder gemaakt. Nog een stukje lint er onder en ….. ik ben tevreden. 😊

Bedankt dat je hier weer was!

Ineke

 

2 thoughts on “Travel in Style

Leave a Reply

